Tone .Are

N A I M A

In Uncategorized on October 15, 2010 at 7:49 pm
Hey YALL!
.
Wrote me a book, and figured i let you all know about it.
Please support this project;  i can guarantee you will not regret it  🙂
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
NAIMA began to appear to me from out of a dozen or so pieces, flirting with erotic/romantic themes. Naima is not a lonely poet, nor is it some vain lover, but an amalgam of experiences which yearn to embody a whole and complete expression,… of the journey i began t follow in the vision of. 

And because by the time the song is done, i am drawn back from reflections and dreams, exhausted of epiphanies; what Naima bares to present is it’s own struggle to manifest beauty.

Along the way, there is pain and there is pleasure, there is loss, and gain, there is hope for a righteous and bountiful future, still yet, a practical resignation to life. -Naima

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Purchase NAIMA:

https://www.createspace.com/3453757

N A I M A
List Price: $10.00  

…………………………………………..

A Brush of Wonder

……………………………………………
Your face
is just like
my face
all of my friends say, she has your
face, I hear it all day everywhere

.
we go together; la misma cara
“that was you”
your Wela says
amazed

.

Were there a confession I wish to make
to clear the way, to get to the point
of where I’m going,
with a loss for words
agape in a gaze on you
as you play on
it’s just that there was a time in my youth
when I was so consumed with this
fanciful kind of greatness I
imagined my potential; that
my bust became a stencil for affirmations,
my face would become these paintings

.

Wonderment saw the same thing
people see in your face, in it’s state of me

.

this very moment, I’m wondering
if maybe those faded dreams
of greatness actually came to be

.
If you are one of those
mysterious ways they say God works,

.

I’m wondering… because you must be
.
at every curvature and meticulous shape,

.
in the nuances they portray they see in
the semblance assembling us

.
before their very eyes

.

They say
that even your
expressions
are the same
as mine…

.

And I’ve never carried any doubt
as to whether you were mine,
I’m the last person whom needs to hear
that I can’t deny you; everything from
my hair down to my jaw line don’t
chance a lead to such denial.

.

Besides, you are my world…

.

But
are you
the world’s attention
I always knew I’d find girl?

* A Brush of Wonder is a title from ToneAre’s NAIMA

About the author:
Tone Are was born, Tony Rivera, to Sonia Maldonado in Brooklyn, NY, September 25th, 1981. He is the father of Nadia Janae Rivera-Aponte.NAIMA 

Authored by T o n e A r e

NAIMA is a prologue to the literary career of Nuyorican Poet, Tony Rivera. In this, his first work, projected from his own experience is a collection of poetry which longs for love, while struggling through the demons which threaten to compromise his humanity to the oppressive pulse of ‘manhood’. As an artistic opus, NAIMA brings the melodic desires, fears, pain and pleasure of a young Latino to the very nerve of your senses.

Publication Date:
Oct 15 2010
ISBN/EAN13:
1452866066 / 9781452866062
Page Count:
130
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
6″ x 9″
Language:
English

……………………………………………………….

But Colors of Restoration

………………………………………………………..

.
When I heard
the sad clown
was gone

.
I found myself
angled upward
a memory

.
And while surveying why they
mightn’t have brought me down;
the tears he cried, his frown

.
I tailed away to

.

take in the white paint around
the frame, picturing a certain emptiness
Grandma must have been living
through, setting me up in a room
I remember and still feel unbounded in

.
as I were, scouring her ever giving eyes,
while building blocks that captivated her
past me, into premonition.

.

Might’ve been the moment,
which haunted me into shaking shapes
out the box for her to watch me

.

to return immediately after
she was done pulling socks off the ol’ man,

.

maybe it was when I came to understand

.

the childhood this saint must have never had,
for her to thump on in straight for the grab,
replace toy-time with paper to draw on

.
and to continue chores beyond the door

.

as I fixed his face happy outside the lines
the clown that watched me play, and sleep

.

The friend
I left in that room
To weep, while I went and
Gave Grandma a kiss on the cheek

.

And a picture for her to keep

*But Colors of Restoration is a title from Tone Are’s NAIMA

Leave a Reply

